Staying Focused

Hello again, its been a long week and I am just getting a chance to update everyone. With teaching during the week it becomes challenging to update often. Anyway, I am moving along in my studies, working on lesson 4 of my first unit. The lesson I am working on now is titled, ” How To Use Your Camera.” It essentially rambles on about the what they refer to as the “twin poles of exposure,” referring to depth of field and shutter speed. You might sense a feeling of annoyance by my word choice above. Nothing against the course, it is exactly what it claims to be. My struggle is this: I want to be a good student, meaning that I want to read and actively participate in every part of this course. However, some pieces of this unit have no relevance to me or my equipment. It becomes difficult to focus and connect to the material, causing my mind wander away from my readings. This causes me frustration because it takes me awhile to get back in it. It is only the beginning and I am certain that this will change. I know that as the course progresses it will become more focused on specific areas of photography which I am looking forward to. For now I struggle a bit.

Leave a Reply

